2016 Reading Project

Hello friends!

I grew up an avid reader, and it has always been something I turn to when I just need to checkout for an hour or two. Lately, I’ve gotten away from reading physical paper books, but have enjoyed using audiobooks as entertainment (and background noise) while doing chores around the house and on long drives. I’ve discovered some great authors I was unfamiliar with, and have developed a fondness for dystopian novels and thrillers a la Gone Girl.

I thought it would be fun to challenge myself with a reading project in 2016. I’ve seen similar projects floating around the internet, and have always thought it would be interesting to try. I’ve created a list of categories that will help me expand my reading horizons. If you think this is something you’re interested in giving a try, let me know!

This post is only going to include the reading list, and as I find books that meet the qualifications, I’ll share them with you. I’ll also post reviews as I finished books, and keep everyone up to date on how the project is going! I’m excited to get started 🙂

readingproject

  1. A Young Adult Bestseller
  2. A Book You Haven’t Read Since High School
  3. A Book Under 150 Pages
  4. A Book You’ve Been Meaning to Read
  5. A Book That Has Been Made Into a Movie
  6. A Book Written By A Celebrity
  7. A Book From Before The Year You Were Born
  8. A Book From Oprah’s Book Club List
  9. A Book Recommended By Your Spouse/Family Member
  10. A Book Published in 2016
  11. A Book You Pick Based on the Cover
  12. A Book You Already Own, But Haven’t Read

That’s it! 12 books for 12 months. I’m not planning on doing them in this order, and once I have a better idea of the books that I’ll be reading, I’ll do a little rearranging so it is easier to follow. I have a couple ideas in mind, but a few trips to our local library and the bookstore are in order!

I will be starting a little backwards with #12 since I have a book my husband got me for our one-year anniversary that I haven’t gotten around to reading yet. So, the first book of my 2016 reading project will be The One & Only by Emily Giffin!41HFqTDQMXL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Here’s a little synopsis of the novel on the author’s website. Maybe it’s one you want to check out too!

What’s the best book you’ve ever read? Are you a paper, e-book, or audiobook person?

Ta ta for now!

The Ginger Wife ❤

One thought on “2016 Reading Project

Leave a Reply

