2016 Reading Project – Update #1

Hello friends!

Can you believe we’re already into the third month of 2016? It feels like just last week I was trying to come up with the goals I wanted to accomplish this year. So far, so good!

I’ve been having a lot of fun working on my reading project, which if you’re unfamiliar with what I’m referring to, catch up over –> here <–. I’ve managed to complete one a book a month so far, which means I’m on book number 3 out of 12!

Here’s what I’ve read so far, and what’s coming up next for me.

Cbv_hp4UcAEmRtM

A Book You Already Own, But Haven’t Read: Finished

The first book I read was The One & Only by Emily Giffin. I absolutely loved this book, but I will say that if you’re not a sports fan, namely college football, you might have a tough time getting into it. The football world is a big theme in the book, but the overall love story craziness might be enough to suck you in. I loved the characters, and while parts were a little predictable, I couldn’t put it down. I’ll give it 9/10 stars!

A Book Written By A Celebrity: Finished

Next up was The Fame Game by Lauren Conrad. That’s right…LC is an author! I was totally unaware that she’d expanded beyond her clothing line, but I also wasn’t a Laguna Beach/The Hills addict like most girls my age were back in the early 2004. As far as the book goes, it was definitely a little too high school/young adult for me, and I’m actually still a big fan of books geared more towards this age range. The main characters are actually over the age of 20, but LC’s style of writing created a very Gossip Girl meets The Clique type read. If you’re looking for something quick and easy as the weather warms up, and everyone looks for that perfect poolside book, this could be one for you. I believe tehre are also other books with the same main characters. I’m giving it 5/10 stars.

A Book That Has Been Made Into A Movie: Current

I’m currently trying to find a chance/force myself to sit down and get back into reading after starting a new job, but I have my next book ready to go. Next up is Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin. I totally chose a book by an author I’d already read a book by in this project by accident! I was at a local discount bookstore, and saw the cover that showed it was a book turned into a movie, and it wasn’t until after I’d made the purchase ($3 – score!) that I noticed the author’s name. Good thing I liked The One & Only! I’m excited to read this one, and I will report back in month or two with what I thought of it.

Have any recommendations for other book categories on my list? Let me know!

Ta ta for now!

The Ginger Wife ❤

Leave a Reply

